The Cubs and Sox both lost last night in extra innings. For the Cub fan it was no big deal and possibly a blessing, depending on if you want Milwuakee, New York or Philly to be the Wild Card in the NL.
For the Sox fan, it was brutal. Swept in the dome, the White Sox now find themselves 1/2 game back and out of first place for the first time since August 24. I can't say I'm surprised, though I was rooting for the Sox to get it done in Minnesota.
The players seemed resigned to losing games against the Twinks. Even after last night's game, players could be heard discussing the "fluke" nature of many of Minnesota's hits. It just didn't sound like a team angry with itself for letting this slip away.
Their fate is no longer in their hands and they have only themselves to blame. The Sox put up six in the fifth inning and were up 6-3 after the Twins' half of the inning. Not good enough. It was disheartening to watch.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment