...or may be.
Wrigleyville bars have been asked to go dry after the 7th inning stretch as is done inside the stadium. The city's Office of Emergency Management and Communications notes the dry period is voluntary and would only last until after the game is over on "clinch games".
I'm all for maintaining public safety, but this is just odd. I can't argue that it would not reduce, however small, the overall level of drunkenness. However, the bar and restaurant owners are rightly concerned about what this would do to their take on those days. Perhaps the public safety should be paramount here, but I just don't see this action curbing the behavior of the worst offenders.
Heck, not everyone even cares about the Cubs. Though, they might want to steer clear of the area if that's the case. There is nothing worse than bumbling into an impromptu street celebration of that kind.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment