Thursday, October 30, 2008

Macha named new Brewers manager

Sporstline has the news.

I guess all the speculation as to who will replace Brenly was for nothing.

And no, Paul Sullivan, Santo was not the right man for the job. I love Ronny, but he needs to stay on the radio side. Not because he's a "homer" (which, in Santo's case just means he roots for the Cubs. He is not biased in his judgements), but because the TV booth needs a more sedate personality. I also would hate to spoil a great radio team of Santo and Hughes and likely result in both the radio and TV broadcasts losing a little luster. Santo is perfect for the radio. Let him stay there.

Monday, October 27, 2008

Ramirez Wins NL Aaron Award

In the first ever fan voting for the Hank Aaron Award (the award given to the "most outstanding offensive performers" in each league), Aramis Ramirez won in the NL and Kevin Youkilis (Boston Red Sox) in the AL.

In years past, the award was given to the player with the best offensive stats. This year, fans were able to vote for players on the MLB website. Each team selected one nominee. It is no surprise that two of the league's most rabid fan bases voted their players to victory.

Youkilis had a pretty good year at .312, 29 HR, 115 RBIs, 91 runs, .390 OBP, .569 slugging.

Ramirez also had a decent year, but not his best, at .289, 27 HRs, 111 RBIs, 97 runs, .380 OBP, .518 slugging.

Youkilis is right up there with Ordonez (Miguel Cabrera was the Tigers' nominee and is also worth mentioning), Huff, Hamilton and Morneau. I liked Hamilton myself at .304, 32 HR, 130 RBIs, 98 runs, .371 OBP, .530 slugging, but you can make a case for any of these guys.

Ramiriez, on the other hand, was not even the best at his position. David Wright of the Mets hit .302, 33 HRs, 124 RBIs, 115 runs, .390 OBP, .534 slugging. However, Wright was inexplicably not the nominee for the Mets.

Jose Reyes was the Mets' nominee, boasting a .297 average with 16 HR, 68 RBIs, 113 runs, .358 OBP, .475 slugging. Granted Reyes' 56 stolen bases helped his cause, but I would have still given Wright the nod.

As usual, Berkman was up there with phenomenal stats at .312, 29 HRs, 106 RBIs, 114 runs, .420 OBP, .567 slugging) and Chipper Jones finished with a .364 batting average and an incredible .470 OBP (though incredibly only 75 RBIs). For my money, I can't believe Pujols didn't win at .357, 37 HRs, 116 RBIs, 100 runs, .462 OBP, .653 slugging. I cringe every time he steps in the box to face a Cub pitcher.

I'm not taking anything away from Ramirez. The fans made the selection. He was a formidable hitter throughout the regular season and constantly proved to be a clutch hitter and offensive force for the Cubs (until the great hitting blackout of the 2008 playoffs, of course).

Sutcliffe Comments on Possible Cubs TV Opening

From an article in today's Chicago Tribune.

Sutcliffe mentions that he is always interested in doing something with the Cubs. The Red Baron is currently under contract with ESPN and had planned to be a Spring Training coach with the Cubs prior to being diagnosed with colon cancer in May. Sutcliffe has undergone one successful surgery and has another coming up in November, but everything is going as well as can be expected and the ex-Cub believes he would be ready for a full season of work in the booth if the opportunity was there.

I loved Sutcliffe as a player and what little exposure I have had with him as a broadcaster has been favorable. Yes, even including the 2006 incident where a drunken Rick Sutcliffe pops into the TV booth in San Diego to chat with Matt Vasgersian and Mark Grant That's funny stuff.

Friday, October 24, 2008

Grace shares his feelings

Mark Grace made some comments regarding the debacle known as the Cubs' 2008 post-season. He says they "laid down", "played tight" and "should be humiliated."

This naturally leads people to wonder if Grace's comments could hurt his chances at replacing Brenly in the TV booth.

I think honesty and calling it like you see it is not something that should be frowned upon. We know Brenly was willing to call players out. Grace is also still working in a part-time role for Fox during the World Series. Wouldn't it be a worse measure of a man for Grace to sugar coat comments about the Cubs so that he doesn't piss off potential new employers?

Besides, he was right. The Cubs failed miserably and did not live up to fans, analysts and their own expectations. If you look deeper into his comments, you see a man rather stunned that the team he saw as the class of the NL got drubbed out of the playoffs in short order.

I think this quote from Grace says it all, "I'm as disappointed as all the other Cubs fans." That's passion for the team he played 13 seasons for. That's honesty and critical review from an experienced ex-player. That's the heart of a fan coming from a former player.

That's what the booth needs.

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Dallas Green has something to say

He still doesn't much care for the Cubs.

He got fired in 1987 and believes he had a strong hand in the 1989 results. Probably true, but he wasn't there so I'll leave it alone. I don't really like thinking about that '89 team anyway.

Either way, it was more than 20 years ago. Let it be. Hell, even Lee Elia has softened a bit.

Brenly headed to the Brewers?

There is much discussion about Cub TV Man Bob Brenly as a top choice to helm the Brewers.

Can't say that it sounds off-the-wall or that Brenly turning down a big TV salary to have another go as manager. The Brewers have young talent, a nice ballpark and good fans. Though they probably won't have Sabathia, which would concern any incoming manager.

That would leave quite a hole for the TV broadcast. The current team of Brenly and Len Kasper do a pretty good job. It took a while after Stone left before the TV broadcast felt good again. I don't know who would be on tap as replacement for Brenly.

How about Mark Grace? He's with the D'backs until 2010.

Dan Plesac has done good work around town talking Chicago baseball. I don't know that he has the impact that fans would want.

Similarly other part-time Cubbies like Eric Karros and Todd Hollandsworth who have been seen and heard around the baseball analysis scene lately. Both good, but possibly without the kind of spark you might want.

Sutcliffe is a possibility. He's definitely interesting.

Eckersley might be good, though I've had minimal exposure to him doing his Red Sox post-game.

We shall see.

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Cub News Isn't All Bad These Days

I know people are still feeling the hate from the Cubs' unceremonious first round exit from the 2008 playoffs. Certainly not the preferred outcome. However, I maintain some good vibes from this team. I enjoyed them all season and I'm not going to let those three ugly games ruin it all.

As I mentioned in a previous post, there is some work to do over the season. I am happy to see that Hendry will be the man doing much of that work. The team agreed to a four-year extension with GM Jim Hendry on Monday. We all know that the Cubs failed miserably in the playoffs these past two seasons. However, it must be pointed out that they actually won the NL Central two years in a row. That was nearly unthinkable before Hendry built the current team. Hendry is the only Cub GM to take the team to three post-seasons and the team managed to post a 537-513 record under his regime. Hendry has put the Cubs solidly in the mix of teams that must be considered contenders. Having done so, he must now get together the pieces to make a post-season splash as well.

One of those pieces is definitely Geovany Soto, who has been named the 2008 NL Rookie of the Year (Longoria of the Rays grabbed the hardware in the AL). Soto hit .285 with 23 HRs and 86 RBIs while managing on MLBs top pitching staffs (NL's 3rd best team ERA) . Not to mention that Soto's 131 starts (7th in the ML, 5th in the NL) during the regular season is no small feat for a Cub catcher dealing with day games. Congrats to the Cubs' 2001 11-round pick.

The Cubs have also been mentioned as possibles to play an exhibition game or two at the new Yankee Stadium. Word is that the two clubs are in negotiations to have the Cubs play the Yanks to open the stadium.

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Kevin Foster, RIP

Former Cub pitcher Kevin Foster died Saturday from renal cell carcinoma. The Evanston native was 39, had four children and was engaged.

Foster pitched in the bigs from 1993-1998 and again in 2001 (1994-98 with the Cubs). In his time with the Cubs, Foster went 32-28. He had a nice fastball and decent command in a career shortened by arm injuries.

Friday, October 10, 2008

As If You Didn't Know

The Trib reports that the current state of the economy will impact the timing and financials surrounding the sale of the Cubs.

Indeed, everything has changed. No championship glory. No easy access to funding.

This situation should never have dragged on this long and now it will continue.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

Harden Staying

The Cubs picked up Rich Harden's 2009 option year and will pay Harden $7 million in the final year of a four year deal he inked with Oakland.

The 26-year-old pitcher went 5-1 with a 1.77 ERA in 12 starts with Chicago after the July 8 trade. Harden struck out 181 in 148 innings and had a .183 batting average against. His one post-season start was unspectacular, giving up 3 runs in 4 1/3 innings.

Overall, the Cubs think that if they get 25 starts (his combined total with the A's and Cubs in 2008) out of Harden next year and he is productive, then it's a good deal. I agree. $14 million might get you a top pitcher (might) and paying $7 million for one that pitches 85% of his starts and is a consistent 6 innings per start would be worth it. However, you really want to see something more in the playoffs.

Harden was diagnosed with rotator tendinitis and some "subtle instability" in his right shoulder (no tear was detected) and it appears he will not be needing surgery. He should be ready for the start of next year.

Decisions on Wood and Dempster are up next.

All Wet

An unnamed Cub player broke a pipe in the Dodgers' visiting dugout. The usually media discussion has taken place.

  1. OMG! Stupid athletes. This is so like the Cubs.
  2. Who cares.
  3. If this was the Sox, it would have been blown out of proportion

I fall into the "who cares" category. They got trounced and showed some emotion. The Cubs have offered to pay damages. Nobody got hurt. It has also been noted that this has happened in that clubhouse before (and not by the Cubs). I believe the article mentions a Dodger employee saying this is the fourth or fifth time this year.

Monday, October 6, 2008

And So It Goes...

Another quick exit. Another year without the big prize.

This Cub team played in this playoffs like the team I saw in spring training, not the team I saw sailing through the summer months in control of their own destiny. Missed opportunities, bad fielding, weak hitting, and pitching that couldn't get it done. A fragile looking squad with a ton of questions and very few answers.

Soriano thinks this team isn't made up for the playoffs...a sprint versus the long haul of the season. I say none of them played up to their capabilities. So, while Soriano may be correct, it isn't the reason they lost this series.

The team hit .240. Soriano 1 for 14, Soto 2 for 11, Ramirez 2 for 11, Theriot 3 for 11. The core of the lineup was unproductive. The pitchers had a 5.19 ERA and of the four big starters, the biggest question mark (Big Z) was the only one with an ERA less than 6.00.

None of that diminishes what the Dodgers did. They produced the runs and their starters were on target.

The Cubs, yet again, were not. After two playoff sweeps in a row, it's time to consider what can be done with this squad. I'm not sure tinkering on the edges will get it done. On the other hand, the team is solid and probably doesn't need a total overhaul.

We've got all winter to think about it.

Friday, October 3, 2008

This is the end....

The fat lady has not sung, but from what I've seen recently, I'm not sure why I should believe the Cubs can pull this off. That said, they do have a team capable of winning three in a row now. However, the odds are not in their favor.

Can we get at least one win? I don't want another 3 and out. It's very demoralizing as a fan.

In other Cub related news, an Elgin high schooler was told her Fukudome jersey was inappropriate for school and had to wear a gym class tshirt for the rest of that day. Talk about educators being out of touch with the students.

Now, even given the concept that someone is so blissfully unaware of our Cubbies, couldn't one of the big brains that discussed the matter have looked it up on the Internet? They do have computers don't they? Apparently the matter was sorted out by the afternoon after a call from the student's mother to explain the situation. This kind of thing is just too absurd to believe.

Best of all was this quote from the mother that appeared in the Courier News online article

"She's a big Cubs fan, and we got the jersey at Dick's (Sporting Goods). We
were going to get a (Kerry) Wood one, but it cost more," said Nancy Howe.



Now that's good stuff.

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Game 1

I don't have a ton to say about it. Cubs lost. Things didn't go as planned.

I would have left Dempster in too, so I am not going to get all lathered up about game management.

Overall, a tough pill to swallow in a short series. The Dodgers are a good club and you can't get away with putting guys on base all game long and having location problems. On offense, you have to move runners over and you have to hit with RISP. No excuses. Let's get them tonight.

I will say that watching the game in a bar always reminds you of what utter tools people are. If your emotions are going to ride from elation to deflation on every pop fly you think is a home run, it's going to be a long night of roller coaster emotions. The umpire was calling a decent plate and he isn't the reason Dempster walked all those guys. The atmosphere of a crowd that is such a joy to be around when your team is winning 2-0 can turn dangerously toxic just a short while later. I wonder what the Mayor's policy is on beer sales in Wrigleyville if the Cubs lose so embarrassingly that people are screaming profanities at the top of their lungs.

Try to relax and enjoy it. If the Cubs lose, so be it. It will still have been a fun season from a fan perspective. Ultimately, what I want even more than that elusive championship is the feeling that, should this team not advance in the playoffs, they will actually be back in the playoffs next year. Part of the gloom was always the sense that you never knew when the next playoff appearance would happen.