Monday, June 2, 2008

Kiss My Ass, Mr. "Expert"

I'm breaking from the Cub banter for a moment to talk about the "expert" picks in sports. Now, there are guys that spend a ton of time and brain power crunching numbers, talking to scouts behind the bleachers and generally making a damn good attempt at sports prognostication. There are also a throng of fancy suits and former players scattered throughout the media. Some good, some bad. Most understand just how hard it is to predict sporting outcomes. You do the due diligence, but ultimately anything can and will happen.

Something that has been pissing me off lately (since the damn NCAA tournament actually) is the amount of these guys I hear utter the words "since I picked them in the beginning" or some variation thereof.

What the fuck am I babbling about? It's the mantra of the moment. When asked who will win in the NBA championship, the answer is Boston because the talking head picked the Celtics 6 weeks ago. How about you pull your fucking head out of your ass and give us a breakdown of the series, an assessment of how the teams have fared thus far and why you would (a) stay with your original pick or (b) how you have gained new insight from the last 6 fucking weeks of play. Wanting desperately to be right in your original pick isn't really a helpful analysis and it makes the audience pissy.

While I am ranting, you can all stop saying shit like "most fans don't know about this guy" and calling someone "the most underrated" or "best unknown". We know. We have internet access, DirecTV packages and friends across the land. We know. Stop talking to us like we are your sports-phobic new girlfriend. We know.

No comments: